Updated: Sep 30, 2019
Since then the program has been rolling out. As of June 28th, 2019 the patient/caregiver portal opened up allowing Missourians to apply for their Medical Marijuana Card, and personal cultivation license. I have seen over 140 people (as of this publication) apply on-line and get their medical MJ card and/or cultivation license. Gratefully I played a small part in this process. It has become my passion to make sure Missourians are put in touch with a doctor who will sign a physician certification, help to apply for the license(s) until Missourians receive their card/license, and even provide education on medical MJ.
Do you have a design in mind for your blog? Whether you prefer a trendy postcard look or you’re going for a more editorial style blog - there’s a stunning layout for everyone.
Dispensaries will hopefully open at the beginning of the year. We will offer a list of dispensaries in the area when they open.
Questions About MO Medical MJ
Can I consume medical MJ and drive? The patient identification card does not offer individuals protections from violating laws pertaining to operating a motorized vehicle while under the influence.
Can I have a medical MJ card and own and/or purchase guns? Article XIV of the Missouri Constitution, which authorizes medical use of marijuana in Missouri, does not reference or prohibit the possession or purchase of firearms. However, federal law still may prohibit the possession or purchase of a firearm by individuals who use marijuana, regardless of whether a state has legalized marijuana for medical use. The Department of Health and Senior Services does not regulate the possession or purchase of firearms and therefore cannot say how the federal prohibition will be enforced within Missouri. Specific questions about these federal firearm restrictions should be directed to your attorney or the appropriate law enforcement agency.
Can I grow my own MJ plants? Yes, after receiving a patient cultivation identification card. There is a $100 fee (+ a processing fee) to grow up to six flowering plants per patient and security regulations that must be followed.
How much MJ can I buy? A qualifying patient is allowed up to four ounces of dried, unprocessed marijuana, or its equivalent, in a 30-day period. If there is a compelling reason why the qualifying patient needs a greater amount, the Department requires two independent physician certifications specifying what greater amount the qualifying patient needs. Equivalent: one (1) ounce of dried, unprocessed marijuana is equivalent to eight (8) grams of medical marijuana concentrate or eight hundred (800) milligrams of THC in infused products.
Do I pay taxes on medical MJ? Yes. Dispensaries are required to charge four percent of the retail price in addition to any other applicable state or local taxes. The 4 percent tax goes into a fund to support Missouri Veterans Healthcare.
If I have a past conviction for possession, can I still get my medical MJ card and/or personal cultivation license? Yes. Previous convictions do not disqualify an individual from obtaining an identification card. However, a qualifying patient’s identification may be revoked for certain criminal conduct that occurs after the card is issued.
If I have a patient license from another state, may I purchase medical MJ in MO? No. There is no reciprocity between Missouri’s Medical Marijuana Program and other state medical marijuana programs.
How many caregivers may I have? Designate up to two licensed caregivers.
How many patients can caregivers have? Caregivers can have up to three patients.
What are the fees for patient and caregivers? There is a $25 fee (+ a processing fee) for patients and a $25 fee (+ a pHow many patients may a caregiver have?rocessing fee) for caregivers for each patient. And if the caregiver is growing for the patient, the caregiver or patient has to pay the $100 (+ a processing fee) for each of their patients. And the application is only on-line.
Where can I publicly consume medical MJ? Per 19 CSR 30-95.030, no qualifying patient shall consume marijuana for medical use in a public place, unless provided by law. 19 CSR 30-95.010 defines a public place as any public or private property, or portion of public or private property, that is open to the general public, including but not limited to, sidewalks, streets, bridges, parks, schools and businesses.
When can I legally possess medical MJ? Only those patients and caregivers with a valid department-issued identification card may legally possess marijuana in accordance with 19 CSR 30-95.030. Those cards are being issued now.
Can someone with an out-of-state medical MJ card or physician certification possess medical MJ in MO? Section 5(1) of Article XIV provides that a person who produces an “equivalent identification card or authorization issued by another state or political subdivision of another state” will not be subject to arrest or other sanctions under Missouri law for possession of marijuana in quantities less than the limits for qualified Missouri patients.
What info is required in the Cultivation Security Arrangement and Processes section of the patient/caregiver application? Qualifying patient cultivation facilities must take place in an enclosed locked facility per 10 CSR 30-95.010. The description should include how you will comply with the requirements in this rule regarding location, security, and who will have access to the facility.
What forms of payment are accepted for the on-line application? DHSS accepts electronic Check (ACH), MasterCard, Visa, Discover, American Express and any gift card issued by those credit cards.
What conditions qualify?
-Intractable migraines unresponsive to other treatment;
-A chronic medical condition that causes severe, persistent pain or persistent muscle spasms, including but not limited to those associated with multiple sclerosis, seizures, Parkinson’s disease, and Tourette’s syndrome;
-Debilitating psychiatric disorders, including, but not limited to, post-traumatic stress disorder, if diagnosed by a state licensed psychiatrist;
-Human immunodeficiency virus or acquired immune deficiency syndrome;
-A chronic medical condition that is normally treated with a prescription medication that could lead to physical or psychological dependence, when a physician determines that medical use of marijuana could be effective in treating that condition and would serve as a safer alternative to the prescription medication;
-A terminal illness; or
-In the professional judgment of a physician, any other chronic, debilitating or other medical condition, including, but not limited to, hepatitis C, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, inflammatory bowel disease, Crohn’s disease, Huntington’s disease, autism, neuropathies, sickle cell anemia, agitation of Alzheimer’s disease, cachexia, and wasting syndrome.
How can I get my medical MJ card and/or personal cultivation license?
Step 1: Visit Natural Journey’s Missouri-licensed physician (Book Here: https://www.naturaljourney.net/), who is active and in good standing to practice medicine pursuant to Missouri law, to obtain a physician certification.
Step 2: Apply for an identification card in the department’s secure online registry. The department will either approve or deny the application within 30 days of receipt of the completed application. Missourians have been receiving their cards and licenses as early as 3 day and up to two weeks.
Do you have questions about medical MJ? Please come by or call the store for answers.
We are here for YOU!